Getting behind on the little things…

I get to be so tough on myself at times, it just astounds me. Why do we do that to ourselves? My priority has always been family and right now my family is just me and hubby. So, instead of stressing over little things that don’t matter as much, I have been really trying to make it a priority to spend quality time with Jas. To us quality time is out and about, off the couch, doing something fun, putting our phones away and on silent and not paying attention to anything but each other.

I think it was two weeks ago now (I forget with all the infertility craziness) we went downtown on one of the most fun dates we have done in a while: outdoor ice skating! I was surprised to find out that skating is free and it was only $2 each to rent the ice skates. We spent a couple of hours out in the chilly air skating around, joking and laughing! I am such a sappy romantic, but the twinkle lights all around the rink just sent me spinning! Here is a peek at our fun night out (all of these photos were taken with my iphone…I am still working on my iphonography skills!)

IMG_6011

The ice rink full of people and lovely Christmas lights.

IMG_6010

Us before trying to remember how to ice skate.

IMG_6016

His and hers rental skates.

IMG_6019

I loved this around the edge of the rink!

IMG_6047

IMG_6039

IMG_6052

A view of our downtown clock tower all lit up for the holidays.

IMG_6056

Also, this past weekend was full of Christmas activities! My Mom came over and we made cookies together while Jas was out of town! On Sunday I spent a lot of time getting most of the gifts wrapped, which felt like my biggest achievement in a long while!

IMG_6171

IMG_6174

After getting all of those Christmas tasks done, I snuck away for a little ME time to do some scrapping! I only got two simple layouts done, but some is better than none, right? First, I wanted to include our updated portraits in our PL album and I made this layout using some inspiration from Lindsay Moreno!

IMG_6188

IMG_6187

Then, I worked on Week 48 ( I am so excited to be “this close” to finishing an entire year using the Project Life system!!!) This week was full of errands, decorating, crafting and going out bowling after our Hometown Holiday Night.

IMG_6185[1]

IMG_6186

I liked this layout so much that I decided to use the same papers and kits for the entire month of December. That then inspired me to maybe make up my own kits for each month in 2013! Kind of like the new Studio Calico monthly kit, but my own version since nothing like that is offered for digital (that I know of…anything?). I was thinking of mixing the items I got with the Daily Digi Files with my favorite colors for the month, along with a few cards from the core kits and my favorite embellishments. I was just thinking that this would help make the album a bit more connected, as sometimes I feel like my pages get chaotic! I am also thinking of being extra brave with my 2013 album and putting papers behind the photos as a background instead of the typical grey…not sure how well I will stick to that plan!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. This looks like so much fun!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

